ABOUT ME

As a passionate nature photographer, I have gained a lot of experience since the 80s and at the beginning of my careerI still worked with an Agfa small picture film in black and white and color on 36 rolls, and then as a photographer to develop the pictures in the hope of some good pictures to have caught. Then, in the 2000s, the first digital SLR camera came out from Canon. And in 2003 the first APS-C format of the 300D which I also bought with an EF 70-300 USM. With that I really got off to a good start in wildlife photography.

In addition to a lot of photographic and technical understanding, wildlife photography usually also requires a lot of patience and background knowledge of the different habitats and behavior of animals in order to achieve good pictures. Please always have one thing in mind: nature always comes first! For a good photo, it is definitely not worth disturbing or endangering any kind.

Vandermeerfotografie adheres to the following rules of conduct and personal experience:

- to take photos in nature reserves I always adhere to the written rules of conduct. So eg. never leave the existing path, do not enter any forbidden area

-you will never find pictures of bird nests during the breeding season with vandermeerfotografie

- calm behavior as a nature photographer that has a very large influence on the escape distance.

The distance to escape depends on the time of year and the age of the animal. During the rutting season, for example, deer are so busy reproducing that they temporarily give up some of their shyness. And where people don't hunt, the animals are less shy.

The cycle of nature, the balance, the action and counteraction is so complex and sensitive that no scientist can research it in depth. Every disturbance can have extreme effects.

Make sure that the human figure is not visible. It is therefore important that I make myself as small as possible or (even better) hide / camouflage.

Many animal species recognize people by their faces from a distance. The shape of the face (eyes, nose, ears and mouth) and that of the hands, as well as light skin color, trigger escape reactions. It is therefore important to cover a light color as well as possible or to make it unrecognizable with a head covering or even better with a camouflage suit. The color of the clothing must be low in contrast, dark and blend in with the surroundings. Mammals don't see colors well, but contrasts do. Birds can distinguish colors well. Brown and green are the best colors because these colors are the most common in nature. In addition to the color, the pattern is also important.

My clothes (or those of the camouflage tent) must "shrink" in the natural pattern of the vegetation. Example: hidden in the reeds or along the pond, it is best to wear clothing with a vertical structure that merges with the stems.

My equipment

Canon Equipment:

  • Canon EOS R
  • Canon EOS 7D Mark II
  • Canon EOS 700D (Für Landschaftsfotografie optimal)
  • Canon RF 100-500mm F4.5-7.1 L IS USM
  • Canon RF 800mm f11 IS USM
  • Canon RF Converter 1.4
  • Canon Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
  • Canon Extender EF 1.4x III
  • Canon Extender EF 2x III
  • Canon Macroobjektiv EF 100mm 1:2.8L IS USM
  • Canon zoom lens EF-S 15-85mm f4:5.6 USM

Sigma Equipment:

  • Sigma DC 8-16.mm 4.5-5.6 HSM

Three pods:

  • Rollei bis 22kg 

Gimbal:

Filter Equipment:

  • Haida
  • Cokin

Photo editing program:

  • Adobe Lightroom CC
  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Adobe Photoshop Express
  • Adobe Cloud

Über mich

Als passionierte Naturfotograf habe ich seit die 80.er Jahre viel Erfahrung aufgetan und im Anfang meiner Karriere noch mit einer Agfa Smallbildfilm in Schwarzweis und Farbe auf 36.er Fotorollen gearbeitet. Dann kam in die 2000.er Jahre der erste Digitale Spiegelreflex Kamera raus von Canon. Und im Jahre 2003 der erste APS-C Format der 300D die ich dann auch gleich kaufte mit einem EF 70-300 USM. Damit startete ich richtig durch in der Wildlifefotografie. 


Neben viel fotografischem und technischem Verständnis ist in der Wildlifefotografie meist auch sehr viel Geduld und Hintergrund wissen über die verschiedene Lebensräume und Verhaltensweisen von Tieren nötig um gute Aufnahmen zu erzielen. Haben Sie bitte immer eines im Hinterkopf: die Natur hat immer Vorrang! Für ein gutes Foto lohnt es sich definitiv nicht irgendeine Art zu stören oder zu gefährden.

Die vandermeerfotografie hält sich an folgende Verhaltensregeln und persönliche Erfahrungen: 

-um in Naturreservaten zu fotografieren halte ich mich immer an die ausgeschriebene Verhaltensregeln. Weichen Sie zb. nie von die bestehende Wege ab, betreten Sie kein verbotenes Gebiet 

-Sie werden bei vandermeerfotografie nie Aufnahmen von Vogelnester während der Brutzeit finden 

-Ruhig Verhalten als Naturfotograf das hat einen sehr großen Einfluss auf die Fluchtentfernung. 

Die Fluchtentfernung hängt von der Jahreszeit und das Alter des Tieres ab. Hirsche zb. während der Brunftzeit sind so mit der Fortpflanzung beschäftigt, dass sie vorübergehend einen Teil ihrer Schüchternheit aufgeben. Oder wo Menschen nicht jagen, sind die Tiere weniger schüchtern. 

Der Kreislauf der Natur, das Gleichgewicht, das Wirken und Gegenwirken ist so komplex und empfindlich, dass kein Wissenschaftler es bis in die Tiefe erforschen kann. Jeder Störung kann extreme Effekte nach sich ziehen.

Stellen Sie sicher, dass der menschliche Figur nicht sichtbar ist. Es ist daher wichtig, dass ich mich so klein wie möglich mache oder (noch besser) verstecke / tarne.

Viele Tierarten erkennen Menschen aus der Entfernung im Gesicht. Die Form des Gesichts (Augen, Nase, Ohren und Mund) und die der Hände sowie eine helle Hautfarbe rufen Fluchtreaktionen hervor. Es ist daher wichtig, eine helle Farbe so gut wie möglich abzudecken oder unkenntlich zu machen mit einer Kopfbedeckung oder noch besser mit ein Tarnanzug. Die Farbe der Kleidung muss kontrastarm und dunkel sein und sich in die Umgebung einfügen. Säugetiere sehen schlecht Farben, aber Kontraste schon. Vögel können Farben gut unterscheiden. Braun und Grün sind die beste Farben, weil diese Farben in der Natur am häufigsten vorkommen. Neben der Farbe ist auch das Muster wichtig.

Meine Kleidung (oder das des Tarnzelt) muss im natürlichen Muster der Vegetation "eingehen". Beispiel: versteckt im Schilf entlang oder am Teich tragen Sie am besten Kleidung mit einer vertikalen Struktur, die mit den Stängeln verschmilzt.

Meine Ausrüstung

Canon Ausrüstung:

  • Canon EOS R
  • Canon EOS 7D Mark II
  • Canon EOS 700D (Für Landschaftsfotografie optimal)
  • Canon RF 100-500mm f4.5-7.1 L IS USM
  • Canon RF 800mm f11 IS USM
  • Canon RF Converter 1.4
  • Canon Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
  • Canon Extender EF 1.4x III
  • Canon Extender EF 2x III
  • Canon Macroobjektiv EF 100mm 2.8L IS USM
  • Canon zoom lens EF-S 15-85mm f4-5.6 USM

Sigma Ausrüstung:

  • Sigma DC 8-16.mm 4.5-5.6 HSM

Stative:

  • Rollei bis 22kg 

Gimbal:

Filter:

  • Haida
  • Cokin

Foto Bearbeitung:

  • Adobe Lightroom CC
  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Adobe Photoshop Express
  • Adobe Cloud